An organization allows you to collaborate with others on a shared set of Protobuf files. Once you've set up the organization, you can add other Buf users as members and assign roles to them that give specific permissions to change the organization itself and the underlying resources. See Managing members for more information about roles and how to assign them.
To create a new organization, sign in to the Buf Schema Registry, click on Show all under the "Your organization" section, and then select Create Organization.
When setting up a new organization, there are a few important things to keep in mind:
- The organization name must be unique and between 3 and 32 characters in length. It can only contain lowercase letters, numbers, or hyphens (-).
- You have the option to link an organization URL later in the repository settings.
- You can also provide a description of the organization, which can be up to 350 characters in length.
- Additionally, you can provide an organization logo to make the org memorable and identifiable.
Organization names cannot be changed without deleting and recreating the organization and all its contents. Please choose the name carefully.
Organization-wide breaking change prevention
This option is currently in alpha, and may be changed at any time.
Administrators can opt-in to enforcing breaking change policies at an organization-wide level.
When enabled, the breaking change rules defined in the target module's
buf.yaml file will be used to
determine if the change is backward-incompatible. If a breaking change is detected, the push will be rejected
and an error will be shown to the user.
Rules for breaking change configuration can be found here.
Bear in mind that this applies to pushes from any source. If you rely on your VCS to always be mirrored exactly in the BSR, consider the impact this may have on your CI/CD pipeline before enabling this option.
Enforcement can be enabled or disabled at any time by an organization administrator.
Deleting the organization is a permanent action, and cannot be undone. You must first delete all repositories, templates, and plugins owned by the organization.